NANBPWC – Toledo Club Holiday Gift Giving Donation to Kitchen of the Poor and Lucas County Children’s Services.

Tyra Smith and Harvey Savage, Jr.

The Toledo Club of the National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Club Inc., Adult and Youth Club bring holiday Cheer to one of Toledo Community agencies – The Kitchen of the Poor during Christmas Time.

A donation of $2,000 was made to the Kitchen of the Poor from the members of the Toledo Club of NANBPWC, Inc. and delivered by Club President Tyra Smith.

The late Rev. Harvey Savage, Sr., established the kitchen in 1969 in response to the tremendous need he saw in his community. Located in Toledo’s central city, the kitchen feeds more than 200 people each day, including school children and the elderly.

The Kitchen of the Poor accepts everyone who walk in their door, up to 200 people a day, most days. They are always ready to lend a hand, to listen and to serve without judgment.

They know the people they serve have dignity – and pride. They honor them and are honored to serve them. If anyone wants to talk, they will listen.

The Kitchen of the Poor are proud to know that people consider them to be part of their extended families. The kitchen is a family whose members watch out for one another.

They are located at 650 Vance Street, Toledo, Ohio 43604. Their phone number is 419-241-2596. Emails can be sent to,

The Toledo Club of the National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Club Adult and Youth Clubs continue to provide services even during the pandemic. For two years during Covid-19, their continuing service still goes on to help the Toledo Community by reaching out to bring awareness of global issues that impact the lives of people both near and far.

The National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs, Inc. founded in 1935, emerge as a national non-profit organization in light of the need to promote and protect the interests of women business owners and professionals.

The importance of education and economic development through entrepreneurship was emphasized as women sought to support women through community service and social activism. The NANBPWC, Inc. through its national leadership, regional districts and local clubs provides opportunities for women to increase their leadership skills, experience governance and parliamentary procedures, and enhance their educational awareness of issues impacting the Black community through volunteerism.  The NANBPWC, Inc. encourages youth and young adults to achieve economic independence by joining the rising tide of young people in business today.

The NANBPWC, Inc. membership is comprised of women of all ages, college students and youth who render community service throughout the country. To become a member, the inquirer must fall within one of the following categories: Adult: Active or retired business and professional women.

As COVID-19 continues to spread, the future has never felt so unpredictable. These are challenging times for everyone, and the women of NANBPWC- Toledo Club hope everyone’s in good spirits and health! Right now, they are doing everything possible to sustain daily operations and provide services to our community. While there’s a lot of uncertainty, we know that we need to adapt fast to our changing reality. Now, more than ever, our community needs us.

In times like this, we’re reminded of how interconnected we all are. Thank you for being part of our community. Without you, none of it is possible

The Toledo Club Members of NANBPWC Inc. are:

Tyra Smith –President, Denise Black-Poon- 1st  Vice President &  Program Chair,                                                  Alexii Collins – 2nd Vice President and  Youth Advisor, Ethel Scott – Director of Membership,

Mironda Harris – Corresponding Secretary, Yvonne Anderson Colbert- Recording Secretary,Barbara Tucker – Parliamentarian and  Financial Secretary, Wilma Brown- Treasurer, Tommie McGhee-Chaplain, Kameka Y. Anderson, Delores Bates, Clara Brank , Denise Cardwell,  Deborah Carlisle, Denise Carr, Suzette R. Cowell,  Mary Dawson, Alethea M. Easterly, Dorothy Gray, Karen Jarrett, Kimberly Mosley-Turner,                                                                  Uchenna Odiari  Iris Pat Page Jones, Quinn Peterson, Stephanie Potter, Sherry Reed , Marquita Scott Chong, Victoria Simms, Donna Todd , Beverly Tucker, BJ Tucker, and Michele Rene Williams