Deltas Host Annual “Breakfast for M’Lady”

Breakfast for M’Lady Committee (back row), Aleyah Oliver, Dr. Tonia Pace and Collette Smith (front row)

By Tricia Hall
The Truth Reporter

The ladies of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. held their fabulous event called Breakfast for M’Lady at the Pinnacle in Maumee on Saturday, May 13.

The 45th annual breakfast focused this year on honoring our past and reclaiming our future. Guests were greeted at the doors, had access to vendors and plenty of music. A warm welcome and formal introduction of those seated at the head table was completed by Andrea Jones, the program chair and chapter second vice president.

Chapter president, Tonia Pace delivered a warm welcome to all of the individuals in attendance. Followed by Donna Hill and Roxanne Allen who shared a prayer and led the Negro National Anthem.

“Our gift today is the opportunity to provide scholarships to these young people, that is the ultimate reason why we continue each year. I’m also honored to hear the wisdom from our speakers, honored to receive the support from our community and opportunity to fellowship,” shared Pace.

The program included a moment to honor women known as the Violets Class, two speakers, Delta DEAR presentation, acknowledgement of 25 and 50 years of sorority membership, presentation of Mother of the Year, and Delta of the year presentation.

Mother of the Year Bishop Pat McKinstry with Toledo Urban Federal CU associates, Board VP Rev. Jerry Boose and CEO Suzette Cowell

The Violets Class of 2023 were: Vivian Bush, Joyce Henderson, Billie Lothery and Sandra Strong. Aleyah Oliver, BGSU graduate and Midwest Regional Representative of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc was the first featured speaker and Collette Smith, the first black female NFL coach, founder of Believe In You Inc and honorary member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Incorporated was the second featured speaker.

“I plan to talk about self-love, empowerment and inspiration to honor the little girl that had self-love. We want to build her up so she can reclaim the future today. It’s a joy to be here. I am surrounded by self-love and excellence today,” shared Smith.

Alpha Bishop Patricia McKinstry was selected as Mother of the Year. Bishop McKinstry serves on the board of Joint College of Bishops, advisor of the Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance, Founder of the McKinstry Midwest College of Theology and Founder of Rise and Shine Academy.

The main purpose of the breakfast is to raise and award scholarships to deserving young ladies. The sorority has awarded more than $250,000 in scholarships to local high school seniors.

The 2023 scholarship recipients were: Sydney Gregory, Erin LaFaso and Jordan Rosales.

Sydney Gregory is graduating from St. Ursula Academy. She has been a student Ambassador and basketball player for four years, two-term Afro Club president and loves lacrosse. She is a lifelong member of Braden United Methodist Church where she provides messages during youth Sundays, serves as a junior usher and acolyte. She plans to enroll at Morgan State University to major in Political Science, minor in African American Studies to become a corporate or criminal lawyer.

Scholarship recipients with scholarship committee – Alisha Durham (committee member)_ recipients Gregory, LaFaso and Rosales and Shannon Carter (committee member)

Erin LaFaso is graduating from Anthony Wayne High School and loves soccer. She was on the ECNL Pacesetter team starting her freshman year, which gave her an opportunity to travel outside the country. She plans to enroll at The Ohio State University to major in Biochemistry as a Pre-Med major.

Jordan Rosales is graduating from Toledo Christian as a four-year honor roll student while maintaining a 3.7 GPA. In 2021, she was inducted into the National Honors Society. She is a four-year varsity basketball and track athlete and has received All Academic Ohio. She is a member of Toledo Excel Program, Youth Leadership Toledo and volunteers at Masonic Ministries and St Paul’s to mention a few. She plans to enroll at Ashland University to major in business and sports management and marketing.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded at Howard University by 22 women. Since its founding, more than 300,000 woman have joined the organization. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, Japan, Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, the Republic of Korea, the Arabian Gulf and West Africa. The first Toledo chapter was formed by seven women in 1937. In 1972, the Toledo Alumnae Chapter was established.

Local chapter officers: Tonia Pace, President; Erica Parish, First Vice President; Andrea Jones, Second Vice President; Stacey Jackson-Jones, Recording Secretary; Antoinette Allen, Corresponding Secretary; Tene Jackson, Financial Secretary; Tee Draper, Assistance Financial Secretary; Chantell Cargile, Treasurer; and Roxanne Quinn, Assistant Treasurer. Event Committee: Andrea Jones, Michelle McCaster, Wanda Galloway-Terrell, Jacqueline Hudson, Pascha Jackson, Aleshia Jackson, Aleshia Miller, Ambershaun Miller-Byrd, Roxanne Quinn and ShaCara Sneed. Scholarship Committee: Alisha Durham, Shannon Carter, Stacey Jackson-Jones, Stephanie Teamer and Frankie Young.