Local Sorority’s Scholarship Presentation

Seated – Mary Hayes, chapter scholarship chair and Treva Jeffries-Martin, PhD, chapter president with chapter scholarship committee, scholarship winners with their parents

By Tricia Hall
The Truth Reporter

The ladies of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, Zeta Alpha Omega Chapter acknowledged selected high school seniors during a scholarship ceremony on Saturday, June 11. Parents, recipients and scholarship awardees gathered at Scott High School community hub for a brief ceremony and reception.

“Good afternoon everyone. I am a proud educator and glad to see all of these scholars. We are proud of you, but I am especially proud of you. Go out there and earn every scholarship that is out there. This is only the beginning for each of you, because you are scholars,” shared Treva Jeffries-Martin, PhD, chapter president.

The 2022 awardees each received their scholarship notification and a gift from the sorority. The awardees are: Jordyn Bailey, Notre Dame Academy graduate who plans to major in nursing earned a $2,000 scholarship; Jada Spann, Toledo Early College High School graduate who plans to major in engineering earned a $1,000 scholarship; Cheyney Nelson, Southfield High School graduate who plans to majoring in nursing earned $2,000; Ivianna Ballard, Bowsher High School graduate earned $1,000.

“I am so proud of each of you and so glad to get to know you during this process,” shared Mary Hayes, chapter scholarship committee chairperson.

The chapter noted that 11 applications were received. Applicants must graduate from a Toledo-area high school and earned at least a 3.0 GPA among other mandatory requirements.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated was founded in 1908 while the local chapter was chartered in 1952. The sorority’s mission is to serve the mankind and cultivate high ethical and academic standards among young women.

Zeta Alpha Omega has awarded $166,000 in the last 35 years, and will continue to seek exemplary, qualified high school females to award scholarships.