Warren AME Church Honors the Women Missionary Society

The Truth Staff

The members of Warren African Methodist Episcopal Church held their annual Missionary Day Celebration on Sunday, June 9, in order to celebrate the accomplishments of the church’s Lillian E. Mitchell Women’s Missionary Society.

Guest speaker First Lady Yolanda Cooper of the United AME Church of Xenia, OH, brought the word for the day’s celebration.

“Our annual Missionary Day is in recognition of our mission and the service that is conducted,” said Debra Jelks, president of the WMS. “Our purpose as missionaries is to do projects not only in the local church but outside in the community.”

WMS, noted Jelks has adopted a local school, Ella P. Stewart Academy for Girls, to provide help and guidance, and also have given contributions to women in Africa.

“So we not only aid our community and our local church but we also provide aid to the district church and conference … so we are pretty busy,” added Jelks.

Margaret Huntley, WMS Chaplain; Speaker Yolanda Cooper; Debra Jelks, WMS President

Cooper, a native of Cleveland, Ohio, and a graduate of the University of Akron, is a member of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. She lives in Columbus and is principal of Woodcrest Elementary of the Columbus City Schools. She also specializes in planning and executing interactive workshops and programs in the areas of communication, leadership development and relationship building.

Sunday’s service began with an invocation by Shirley Jackson, scripture readings by Madison Guy and Dominque Bradley and the Decalogue led by Sis. Margaret Huntley.

The service included a presentation to the Ella P. Stewart Academy for Girls by Rosie Payne, then the litany by Joyce Powell-Miller before the address by Cooper.

The Lillian E. Mitchell Women’s Missionary Society officers are: Debra Jelks, president; Theo Simmons-Hampton, vice president; Darlene Sawyer, secretary; Rosie Payne, treasurer; Margaret Huntley, chaplain; Dominique Bradley YPD director.

Other members are: Marilyn Anderson, Katrina Cogdell, Rosa Day, Janis Deahl, Bonnie Hopkins, Shirley Jackson, Sylvia Johnson, Joyce Powell Miller, Gwendolyn Stinson-Ellis, Darrell Jackson.