Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc, Zeta Alpha Omega Chapter Awards $6,000 in Scholarships

The Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc,  Zeta Alpha Omega Chapter has awarded six outstanding young ladies one thousand dollars to attend the college or university of their choice.  Andrea Price MHA, FACHE, president, Treva Jeffries Ed. D, vice president, and Marie Bush, Ph.D., Scholarship Committee Chairman announced the winners:

  1. Courtney D. Simpson, Start High School – Kent State University,
  2. Selena Porres, Waite High School – University of Toledo,
  3. Winter Richburg, Roger High School – Lourdes University,
  4. Destinee Sample, Start High School – Kent State University,
  5. Janiya Pettaway, Emmanuel Baptist – University of Toledo,
  6. Emmanuela Ezekwemba, Woodward High School – University of Toledo

These high school students have demonstrated high academic honors and provided community service. Zeta Alpha Omega Chapter members wish each one great success as they embark on higher education.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporatedâ (AKA) is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college-educated women.  AKA is an international service organization founded on Howard University’s campus in Washington, D.C., in 1908.

Zeta Alpha Omega Chapter was chartered in Toledo, OH, in 1952 and has been a viable and positive influence in the community. The Zeta Alpha Omega Chapter thanks the community for their annual fundraising support, allowing the sorority to give scholarships to worthy students.